Reviews

She Stoops to Conquer – Two Reviews

Last night, we went to The Abbey Theatre and treated ourselves to yet another exceptional performance. This time, we saw ‘She Stoops to Conquer’. It was magnificent with all the hallmarks we’ve come to expect of an Abbey production; sumptuous costumes, magnificent sets and clever direction as well as hard-working actors plying their craft.

But never mind what I thought of it. My girls have written reviews and I’ve published them here (with their permission):

Review of “She Stoops To Conquer” 3/1/2015 by Kashmira Larkin

Yesterday, in the Abbey Theatre (the national theatre of Ireland), I saw “She Stoops To Conquer” by Oliver Goldsmith.

It was basically a comedy about a woman named Kate in rural Ireland, whose father wanted her to be married to a man called Mr. Marlow from Dublin. She is excited at this idea, but he is shy of upper class women, so she pretends that she is a maid when her half brother Tony fools him into thinking that their home is an inn.

In the end he does find out that she is the women he was supposed to go and marry and they become engaged. There was also something else going on, because Mr. Hastings, a friend of Mr. Marlow, planned on marrying Kate’s friend, Constance. They wanted to run away to France and get married. But, Tony’s mother has other ideas and wants Constance and Tony to be married to keep Constance’s inheritance (jewels) in the family.

I really enjoyed this play and it is the funniest one I have ever seen in the Abbey. All the actors were brilliant, but I think the best actor was Caroline Morahan (who played Kate), and all her facial expressions made me laugh (especially at the end when he found out who she was). There were a couple of unnecessary scenes, and I think the jewel saga dragged on for a bit too long. The stage was set up very well, the whole time it fet like I was sitting in the mansion watching things play out. I loved the music in it as well, it was like a panto for aduts!! It was, overall, a great play, and I would happily go again.

On the 2/1/15 we went to see She Stoops To Conquer (a play written by Oliver Goldsmith) in The Abbey Theatre.

The stage was set up extremely well, it was like we were actually in a mansion in the middle of the countryside. I can’t begin to imagine how much time and work goes into dressing the stage up.

The actors gave an outstanding performance, each character really showed how passionate they are about playing their character. It seemed as if the actors were actually the characters they played their whole lives and they weren’t acting. They definitely put a lot of work into practising everything and making sure they had everything spot on, and they did an amazing job.

Kate gave an especially outstanding performance, she definitely showed that she loved being on stage and that she spent such a long time practising her part. She’s such an amazing actor, she didn’t bluff once, I couldn’t have asked for a better actor to play her part!

This play was absolutely hilarious, I’m pretty sure everyone in the auditorium roared out laughing! I think that the actors made the play funnier by the way they acted their parts. I don’t have anything bad to say about the performance.

I definitely recommend that you go to see the play because it’s just brilliant for all ages and my family and I had a great night. She Stoops to Conquer is definitely a play I’d love to see again.

Standard

One thought on “She Stoops to Conquer – Two Reviews

Leave a Reply

