Uncategorized

One Bad Apple

I love Apple products. The first computer I ever had was an Apple. Since then, I have never bought any other type. I love the logic of Apple products, I love that they are easy for me to use. I love that they are reliable. And any irritation I might have regarding incompatibility of Apple products and software is neutralised by the fact that Apple products are so much less likely to be attacked by viruses.

 

I love that Apple products are so easy to use and so clever.  When I first held an iPhone in 2008, I thought ‘Hmmmm, I gotta get me one of these’. Then, I remembered that I don’t actually like touch screens on phones.

 

So when the iPad was invented, I thought I’d get one of those, instead. Now, however, I’ve changed my mind.

The big tech news this week is that Steve Jobs has resigned as CEO of Apple.  Truly, he has my sympathy. My thoughts and prayers are with him and his family as he continues to battle cancer. My thoughts and prayers are also, however, with the workers and their families at the factory in China where iPads and iPhones are manufactured.

 

When I first heard about the worker suicides at the Chinese plant that makes Apple products, I was absolutely dismayed. It’s something I can’t ignore. Much and all as I would like an iPad, there’s no way I could live with myself if I funded someone else’s misery. As my seven year old just said, ‘It’s like paying someone to kill themselves.’

 

So there will be no iPad for me. I’d never be able to wash the blood off.

Standard

Leave a Reply

